2018 Washington Psychologist Awards

Fall 2018: Volume 74, Number 2

Each year the Washington State Psychological Association recognizes individuals and organizations who have contributed meaningfully to the purpose of WSPA, which is to support, promote and advance the science, education and practice of psychology in the public interest. Click here to view photos.

Distinguished Psychologist Award
Heather Carmichael Olson, Ph.D.

Given in recognition of significant contributions to the field of psychology. This award recognizes outstanding professional contributions to knowledge, to applied psychology in professional practice, or in the public interest. Dr. Carmichael Olson’s work developing, evaluating, and disseminating behavioral interventions for fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD) has been instrumental in bringing attention to the needs of high-risk children and families with FASD.

Distinguished Service Award
Nancy Goldov, Psy.D.

Given in recognition of an individual member’s sustained contributions to WSPA. Dr. Goldov has served as WSPA’s Public Education Campaign (PEC) Coordinator since 2014, helping to educate the public about behavioral health issues.

Outstanding Service Award
Lucy Homans, Ed.D.

Given in recognition of career-long service to WSPA and the field of psychology. This award recognizes a psychologist who has given sustained service to the association in a manner that has significantly benefited the organization and facilitated its development. Dr. Homans has served as WSPA’s Director of Professional Affairs for 25 years, heading legislative advocacy efforts and contributing to key legislative achievements on behalf of the field of psychology.

Legislative Service Award
Representative Ruth Kagi, (D) 32nd L.D.

Honors a Washington State elected official who has contributed to the psychological health of their community. As chair of the House Early Learning and Human Services Committee since 2002, Representative Kagi was instrumental in the creation of the Department of Children, Youth, and Families to more effectively provide care and services to the state’s children and families.

Public Citizen Award
WSU Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine
and WSU Athletic Department

Honors a public citizen or an organization that has contributed to the psychological health of their community. The WSU Medical School has focused on early identification of stressors and providing resources to all medical students. The WSU Athletic Department has introduced several initiatives to address the mental health needs of the athletic community, including formal mental health screenings and the addition of a clinical psychologist to the Athletic Department. Both are focused on increasing awareness of and reducing the stigma associated with mental health issues and treatment.

Presidential Service Award
Sonia Venkatraman, Ph.D.

Honors the out-going President of the Board for their hard work and dedication in guiding the direction of the association. Dr. Venkatraman served two consecutive terms as President.

Student Poster Winner 
Soo mi Kim
Results from a Four-Week Pilot Study of an Academic Course to Enhance University Students’ Resilience and Well-Being
Graduate Student, Seattle University